Complete Story


U.S. to Restrict Travel from Several Countries due to New Omicron Variant of COVID

The variant is raging out of control in South Africa

The United States will restrict travel from South Africa and seven other countries starting Monday, as President Joe Biden and his administration cautiously responded to a wave of global anxiety over the new omicron coronavirus variant.

The travel policy was implemented out of "an abundance of caution in light of a new COVID-19 variant circulating in Southern Africa," a senior Biden administration official said in announcing it. Other regions and countries, including the European Union, Britain, Japan and Israel, also set restrictions for air travelers arriving from southern Africa.

The restrictions will apply to travelers from South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique and Malawi. They do not apply to American citizens and lawful permanent residents, the official said.

Please select this link to read the complete article from The Washington Post.

Printer-Friendly Version